Stack of BooksI’ve just had a prayer answered.  I mean immediately my prayer was answered.  Years ago, I learned from reading the wonderful book, Practice of the Presence of the Lord, by Brother Lawrance, the importance of having constant communication with the Lord.

Therefore, much of my thought life has become prayer.  Monday is my day off.  As I sat on my couch about an hour ago, I thought/prayed, “Lord, I’d love to have a book to read.”  I especially love children’s books.

Within a few minutes, I got a text from my daughter.  “Did you get the gift book we sent to you?”  After a few texts, I downloaded my new book on my iPad.  Needless to say, I was thrilled–not only with my new book but also with the Lord’s immediate answer to my prayer.  In fact, He had set the answer into motion even before I had prayed.

formulaI wish there were a “supernatural formula” that I could pass on to you that would make these kinds of wonderful miracles happen every time we pray.  If there is such a formula, I don’t know it.  I believe there are simply times when God’s miraculous grace is poured out into our lives.

I had a discussion with a dear friend yesterday.  I said that all miracles are big because they are supernatural interventions into our lives orchestrated by God.  He laughed and said, “No!  It’s exactly the opposite.  All miracles are small because our God is much more mighty than mere miracles.  They are simply like breathing in and out to God.”

Both explanations could be absolutely true.   From the perspective of humankind, every miracle–no  matter  how small–is enormous because we are able to see the  intervention of God in our lives.  To imagine that God cares enough about us that he will break his own rules is a breath-taking concept.

Yet, viewed from the perspective of God–healing, deliverance, parting the sea, feeding 5,000 people–all miracles are child’s play.

Nevertheless, when I view into the looking-glass of the history of humankind regarding what price was paid by the Lord Jesus to give me total access to a loving and gracious God, I cannot but stand in awe of the salvation Jesus’ sacrifice provided for me.  I sit dumbfounded at the big miracles from an amazing, loving God who will answer a prayer desiring a new book to read.

Small or big miracles?  Small for God.  But a huge act of graciousness that demonstrates to me his love for me.  That’s a big miracle.

