God is Patient

The Lord is not slow in doing what he promised—the way some people understand slowness. But God is being patient with you. He does not want anyone to be lost, but he wants all people to change their hearts and lives (II Peter 3:9).

Central Theme:  God is patient with everyone.

Introduction–  Bring a jasmine vine or show a picture.  There was a beautiful one that was killed in the storm.  I was sad.  Do you think a man of God should be more concerned about a dead plant or a city like Vero Beach (Melbourne), Florida?

I.     Have a member read II Peter 3:9

A. Tell the story of Jonah.

B.  Show a dead plant.

C. Jonah wanted God to kill all the people in the city but he was so angry he said he could die because a plant was killed.

II.     God is patient with everyone.

A. He does not want anyone to have an unhappy life or die without Him.

1. There was a time I was so angry with some people who were gossiping about me that at times I felt it would be good if I died.

2.  God helped me to love them because he loves them.

B.  This was how God helped me to be patient with people I don’t want to be patient with.

1.  God can help us remember that God loves that person as much as he loves me.

2.  God can help me find good things about that person.

3.  God can help me love that person when they are not with me.

A. Many times after a person leaves us, we think about what the other person did or said and then we get angry.

Conclusion–God is patient and he can help me to be patient also.

