Jesus is the Rock

I Peter 2:4-7

Central Theme:  Jesus is the foundation and stable person in my life.

Introduction–Several years ago, I laid a 10 foot by 24 foot stone patio in my side yard. First, I had to prepare the ground so that it was as firm as I could make it.  This took about two weeks each day wetting it, pressing it down and allowing it to dry.  Then I added roofing tar paper (I had not ever heard of doing that but I thought it would provide a moisture barrier and help prevent weeds.  Others who work in concrete tell me it was a good idea).  Then I laid rabbit wire to provide a firm structure.  After that I put down the mortar and placed the stone on top.  Since I’d never done anything like this, I had to do a lot of research about how to do it.  In everything I learned, I found that my patio had to have a firm foundation.  Read I Peter 2:4-6.  This was the most important thing about putting the patio down. .

I.     Jesus spoke to Peter and told him that on a foundation of rocks he would build his church.

A. The Bible tells us that Jesus is the chief cornerstone. I Peter 2:7

B. Jesus said that Peter would be part of the building stones.  Matthew 16:15-18

C. It is important that the church have good stones.

II.     I found that there was a problem with my stones. They were too weak for a good patio.

A. We have a big problem as people.

B. We are too weak to stand alone.

1.  We need a firm foundation–Jesus.

III.     But there is more–we need each other to be strong.

A. We cannot fully exist without each other.

B. We must have the entire body of Christ–even those which appear to be more defective than us.

C. Even as the defective stone because the cornerstone, God want to unite us into a strong church.

IV.     How do we do this.

A. Be sure that Jesus is your only foundation and work from there.

B. Three things needed to grow

1.  Be sure that you are clinging to the church–no   matter how flawed.

A. The woman whose mom forced her to go to church and she won’t go now.

2.  Prayer must become the center of our lives.

3.  Be sure that you immerse yourself in the Word of God.

C. Complete the armor of God in your whole being to strengthen your personal life Eph 6:14-18.

1.  Your gut must know and love truth.

2.  Your heart must be covered with righteousness.

3.  Your feet must be prepared to share the peace of the gospel.

4.  God’s continuing salvation must be at work in your thought processes.

5.  The shield of Faith must become your protection.

6.  Again, the Word of God must be  your only weapon–and that is against the enemy of your soul.

Conclusion  Jesus is the best foundation for our lives.

