Salvation brings changes in my life

Matthew 5:16

Central Theme:   When we are saved, we will make changes in our lives.

Introduction–Point out some positive changes that you have noticed in your member‘s lives since you have known them.  When we have Jesus, he helps us to change in good ways.  Have a member read Matthew 5:16.

I.     Tell the story of Zacchaeus, the tax collector.

1.  We know that Zacchaeus became a follower of Jesus, because he changed.

2.  Zacchaeus said that he would give half of what he had to the poor and pay back four times if he had cheated someone.

II.     When we repent of the things in our lives God makes changes.

A. Share a story about how the Lord helped you to change.

B.  My example:  For many years, I would do all my laundry on Monday–an all day process.   I would do my husband’s laundry last to insure that all the REST of the laundry would get done.  I felt putting his clothes last insured that I did all of the laundry.  However, every Tuesday, I would get up and remember that I had not put his laundry in the dryer.  I would rush to try to find him a clean underwear or frantically try to dry one pair.  On day, I was so frustrated with myself that I prayed, “Lord, help me solved this problem.”  Immediately, the thought came to do Frank’s laundry first.  That day I changed my behavior.  Frank always had underwear after that.  I call this example of drastic change, Underwear repentance.

B. I also learned that when I burning the peas and that I could not make excuses.  When I faced my responsibility, I quit burning the peas so often.

C. Tell about gossip and how Jesus is changing my talk.

1.  I love gossip but God hates it.

2.  I am seeing how it looks to God and why He hates it.

Conclusion–Zacchaeus gives us an important principle to live by.  He wanted God to be in his life; and he changed.  Change shows people that we are God‘s children.  We act differently from the rest of the world.

