When you are a non-profit corporation, you are required to have a board of directors.  Unlike for-profit boards, your board is covered by the Good Samaritan Law.  These laws simply state that someone who is a doing a job in good faith and is not paid cannot be sued for any damage done by actions taken in the process. 

Of course, the name of the law comes from  the parable that Jesus told in Luke 10:25 to 37.  The hated Samaritan helped a seriously injured Jew, while the Jewish leaders passed him.  Almost all states have made provision for this type of action to be protected and have passed similar legislation.

Tonight, The Special Gathering of Indian River’s board of directors met for our regularly scheduled session.  After all the business had been discussed, the chair put on the table my need for help while my husband is in the dying process.  At first, I protested that things were being handled efficiently and that I’ve obtained the help I need.  I explained that the prayers of the board are almost tangible as I care for my husband.  We are both literally bathed in prayer and love. 

Then the opposing protests from my board began, reminding me of the times I’d not asked for help and the ways I’d rejected intervention.  I balked at their suggestions until Elmer Floyd, the senior pastor of Eastminster Presbyterian Church of Indialantic, Florida gently put one hand on my back and his other hand to his lips and said, “Be quiet and listen.  Your pastor’s heart won’t let you hear what is good for you,” he explained.  “I know you.  Be still and hear what is being said.”

I swallowed hard.  I shut my mouth and listened to the loving and gracious chiding that my board continued to give.  Their recommendations seemed a bit extreme to me, even though I knew that their instructions were given from a position of love and gratitude.     

In the end, I left the meeting feeling blessed and loved by the intervention of these men and women who care about our family.  Working out the details of their instructions will be difficult for me.  However, I have listened; and I will begin to ask for help in more tangible ways. 

Our boards are there for the protection of our ministries.  At times, these men and woman can see and hear events in ways that I am not able to visualize.  From their vantage point, they can be more focused on the good of the ministry.  Stress and fatigue may cloud my vision and make my decision-making processes faulty or slower.  It is important that I learn to lean on their corporate wisdom and listen.  In the end, they are the people who hold the legal responsiblity for the ministry.  While I understand the day-to-day operations in a way they will never comprehend, they may be able to focus of the over-all picture in a way that I cannot.

Have you had your board tell you something that went again the grain of your skin?  Have you found that they were correct in the end?  Has the process of time helped you to see that they were correct?  Or has it cemented your opinion regarding the decision you made?

