God wants us to Give to Him

II Corinthians 9:7

Central Theme:  God wants us to give to Him.

 Introduction–Hold an offering plate.  When I was a little girl, I could not understand how putting money in the offering plate was giving to God.  I was giving to the church or the pastor or the ushers but not to God.  But as I grew up, I realized that I was giving to God and that made the money that I put in the offering plate very important to me. Have a member read II Corinthians 9:7.

       I.     The Christians who lived in Corinth were people who were always getting into trouble.  

              A. Paul wrote to them to help them with their troubles.

              B. One problem was giving to God.

              C. Paul helped them to see that they must give to help meet the needs of others–like we do with the Haitian children.

      II.     God is very practical.

              A. Giving to him means that we give to others or to help support the church. 

              B. God does not want us to put our money in a box and bury it and say that it is for God.

              C. He wants us to use the money we give to him to help others.

     III.     The people in Corinth gave to help the Christians in Jerusalem because they were hungry.  When we put money in the offering plates,

          A. We help to pay for our buses.

          B. We help to pay for our newsletter.

              C. We help the children in Haiti.

              D. We help to support the work of The Special Gathering

Conclusion     Giving to God is a practical thing but very important.

