Over the years I’ve wondered why Jesus turned water into wine as recorded in John 2:4.  I understand Jesus’ comment to his mother, “Why come to me?  My time has not yet come.”  When teaching this passage of Scripture, I’ve always felt the emphasis should be on, “My time has not yet come.”   The fact that he did the miracle without another word isn’t a mystery, however.  I can only imagine the look Mary gave her son.  It’s the “don’t make me say that again” look that every offspring knows and obeys. 

There is another thing that confuses me about this miracle.  God doesn’t do magic tricks.  He does miracles.  There is a broad difference.  Turning water into wine (along with walking on the water) seems to lower the bar of what qualifies as a miracle.

Yet, teaching the mentally challenged community, this miracle becomes appropriate and relevant.  Life is hard for them.  Even the simplest tasks can be monumental and confusing.  Steve struggles with the mechanics of opening a car door.  While Teri masters the mechanical aspects of life, she speaks in short phrases that often don’t make sense because the confuses her negatives and positives.  “I go to the store” becomes “I not go to the store.”  Willi can memorize music quickly.  But she has no concept of time or space or money.  She tells everyone that she is 7.  Willi is thrilled with the $1 she lives on each year.  Christmas is always tomorrow.

Too often people say, “I work out my own problems in life.  I only ask God about the big stuff.”  That sounds really spiritual and gracious considering human beings are all-powerful and God is dependant on us for his next breath.  Okay, thinking logically that reasoning is a bit ridiculous. 

Perhaps the reason that the Lord turned water into wine was to show us that his miracle-working power extends into the smallest areas of our lives.  He wants us to ask; and he will respond to work everything out for our good.  The most interesting part of this story remains, “My time has not yet come.”  It appears that even though it was not fully part of God’s plan, Jesus showed his glory through this miracle anyway because his mother asked him to do it. 

Each of us realizes that the small things dominate our lives.  Song of Solomon speaks of the “little foxes that spoil my vine.”  The minute incidents of life nibble at us and eventually destroy our joy, our witness and our faith.  Early in my prayer life, I learned to take everything to the Lord.  Introducing God’s care and power into the lives of my children became extremely important to me. 

I have no problem praying for a parking spot or a break in the traffic so I can pull onto the highway.  I see no reason why I should not ask for God’s wisdom in the middle of an argument with my husband.  I pray for safety and  God’s mercy as I drive.  I ask God to help me not be so sloppy.  I pray when I hurt; and I include Him when I rejoice. 

It is the small things of life–more than the big and the monumental–that make up our lives.  God desires to be–not only included–but in the center of the small things.  Ask him and see how wonderful your miraculous life can be.

