Ferne Brandt, Special Gathering area director for South Carolina, told a group of us last Sunday that for five years she denied that she was supposed to do a Special Gathering in South Carolina.  She would tell her husband, “Linda thinks I’m supposed to do a Special Gathering.  But I know I’m not.”  He would agree with her.

Finally, one morning she went to her husband crying, “I can’t stand it any longer,” she told him.  “I’m supposed to do a Special Gathering here in South Carolina.”

“I know,” he confirmed to her.

“How long have you known?” she asked.

“About five years, but you had to know it before I could say anything.”

The Lord told me 20 years before He opened the door for me to do this ministry that this was what I was called to do.  He began telling Mrs. Brandt five years before she gave into the call. 

Did I miss God for 20 years?  Did she deny God’s calling for 5 years?  No.  I don’t believe that is true.  I tried to start something; but I couldn’t figure out how to do it.  Finally, I put His call aside, telling the Lord, “I can’t deny that you called me; but I have no idea how to do this.”  In His time, God sent me to the place He wanted me to be.  In His time, God released Mrs. Brandt to do the work He had called her to do.

There are calls of God in our lives.  But there is also a timetable set in the heavens for that call to be fulfilled.  I’m not sure why the Lord told me 20 years before that I would do this ministry.  Perhaps it was because He knew that I would try to make something happen and fail.  Perhaps He knew that I would need to exhaust my own resources to allow Him to work through me.  I have never been able to deny that God put me in the right place at the right time to be introduced to The Special Gathering. 

Ecclesiastes 3 tells us, “There is a time for everything.  And a season for every activity under the heavens.”  But I often don’t want to wait for God’s time clock to alarm that it’s my time to get up.  I’d rather struggle and sweat until I have no wiggle strength left.  Additionally, I suspect that I’m probably not extremely different from everyone else. 

God isn’t really interested in my time clock.  He works on a different schedule and an altered clock.  Yet, His time is perfect and I can depend on Him to always work things out for the good of me and our members.

