From the information I have, it appears that my iPhone has been stolen.  If it wasn’t simply misplaced and a theft has happened, there appears to be only one person who could have taken it.  Thankfully, I have a replacement because my husband is no longer able to use his iPhone.  Aside from the hassle of changing the number to a new phone, there is the struggle of replacing my data.  I will sync and get almost all of my info back.  That is a great relief. 

Systems and events happen that make ministry difficult.  My entire day has been wrapped around the concerns and search for my phone.  Yes, I did a hospital visit in another town, attended a minister’s prayer meeting and walked through two other appointments.  I’ve cleaned up some things that needed to be done regarding business.  But, honestly, my brain and emotions were wrapped around my missing phone.

Because you are involved in ministry does not mean that everything will go well.  In fact, many people believe that your life may be filled with more struggles and fights because of your choice to follow the Lord into the battle field of ministry.  Personally, I’ve rejected that assertion because I strongly believe that every Christian faces the enemy in a life-and-death struggle for the souls of men and women.  Each of us is part of an infantry that encounters sorrow, hurts and disappointments.  In fact, every person is slammed with life situations that sometimes appear to be overwhelming.

However, on days like today, it is a temptation to look at my situation and believe that “the devil is out to get me” as though I were his personal project for the day.  Understand that I’m not downplaying the fact that every minister of the Gospel has struggles.  I’m not saying that.  What I am downplaying is the common impression that somehow people ordained to be in full-time ministry have many more added and extra concerns or burdens to bear.

Filtered from the hand of God, all of us have sorrows, persecutions and unhealthy drama that slams the fragile bucktraces of our lives, whether we are paid for our ministry or not.  I do believe, however, that if Jesus is our boss and best friend, we do have a special relationship with Him that allows us access to the throne room; and He brings miracles of blessing and grace that others may not have the privilege of acquiring. 

It’s the end of my day, my phone is still gone; and I’m working to get the rest of my information back into my data base.  Preparing for bed, I’m struck with the awesome understanding that God is good all the time.  I may be careless and forgetful; but He remains watchful.  I’m also clinging to the understanding that all things will work out for my good and benefit.  I wish I could say that I’m excited and looking forward to how God will bless this event for his glory.  But I’m just tired and ready for bed.

