Jesus spoke of the servant who was given ten pieces of gold to invest.  The weight of the gold was called a talent.  While I realize that the Scriptures speak about money, I don’t believe that it’s a large stretch to apply the story that Jesus told to the talents and gifts that God has given to us.

Most people who begin ministries are ten talent people (and I don’t mean money in this incidence).  Starting a successful specialized ministry will stretch us in different ways from other ministry starts.  Ten talent people are able to juggle many things. 

Most people who are ten talent people are also loaded with ideas.  Getting out of bed, you have 9 ideas.  By the time you’ve showered and shaved, you have 17 new ideas.  Sixteen of them are rotten ideas and one is mediocre.  However, you have lots and lots of ideas.  God has made you like this.  It’s a great blessing and, of course, this tendency can also be a great curse, as your spouse has told you repeatedly.

Many years ago, Marie, a good friend, said to me, “Ten talent people can only use one or two of their talents as a time.  Alternating and organizing your talents and abilities is the key to being successful in what God has called you to do.”   I knew I had gotten a word from the Lord.  And I understood exactly what Marie was saying. 

As a child, we played Monopoly on those hot summer afternoons where the temperatures outside wouldn’t allow us to go outside.  We played until we were sick of the game.  In the winter, it was jackstones that took all our time.  I took up sewing as a young housewife.  My house would be filled with thread, material, needles and pins for weeks.  Then I would put up my machine and not touch it for months. 

Men do it differently.  They are much more organized with their interests.  They work on the “season” principle.  There is baseball, football, basketball and soccer season. 

Alternating and organizing your talents takes thought and discipline, something that doesn’t come naturally for most 10 talent people.  I had a wonderful friend years ago.  She was an amazingly gifted singer and pianist.  She said to me, “It is a great curse to be very talented but not a genius.”  In reality, my friend did not possess a shred of discipline.  She could do almost anything but she did not do any of these things expertly because she failed to practice. Perhaps she could have become a genius at the piano had she forced herself to become disciplined in her gifting.

 Within your ministry you are probably a ten talent person.  Prioritizing your time and gifting becomes a key.  Organizing and setting a schedule to do the things you don’t want to do is a must.  In reality, I’d rather be a two talent person who is able to organize and prioritize than a ten talent unorganized person who lacks the discipline to accomplish what God has called me to do.

