As a child I had no problem believing the miracles of healing in the Bible.  However, my imagination stumbled over the passage where Jesus was about to make his final entry into Jeruselem.  Jesus said to his disciples, “Go to the town you can see there.  When you enter it, you will quickly find a donkey tied there with its colt.  Untie them and bring them to me.  If anyone asks you why you are taking the donkeys, say that the Master needs them and he will send them at once (Matthew 21:2 and3).”

The logistics of this entire episode boggled my mind. I’m still mystified by this whole process.  Can you imagine the disciples’ discourse as they traveled to the city?  “Did he say what color the donkey would be?  What if there isn’t a donkey there?  What if we get there before the donkey gets there?  Do we wait or do we go back to Jesus?  What if the owner is gone and someone else sees us taking the animal and won’t let us take it?”  This could not have been a task that they enjoyed doing.  But they obeyed and the donkey was there. 

The logistics of our Christian walk is truly miraculous.  A few days ago, I got a call from a Hospice volunteer, Jack.  He called to verify that my husband wanted a visitor.  After a few minutes on the phone, Jack said, “I think I know you.  Are you the Linda Howard with Special Gathering?”   I told Jack yes and he continued, “We met through Patty when her husband and daughter died.” 

After her husband died perhaps seven years ago, Patty became a faithful volunteer whose daughter was a Special Gathering deacon and part of our choir.  About two years ago, the daughter died.  Patty and I have become good friends.  Even though she has moved to another state, I call her occasionally.  Patty and I had talked about Jack a few days before.  “Of course,” I said to Jack, “Patty and I were talking about you the other day.”

Jack came to our home last Monday.  Briefly, my husband, Jack and I talked.  Because I was preparing for a board meeting, I excused myself.  I needed to call Patty because she had agreed to serve on our board before she moved.  While talking with her, I decided that she would probably want to speak with Jack.  Walking back to the bedroom, I said to Patty, “I have someone here at my house that you would like to talk to” and I handed the phone to Jack.

They talked for a very long time.  Jack seemed pretty involved and concerned but they weren’t talking about anything important.  Finally, I was speaking to Patty again.  “Jack will be such a blessing to you and your husband,” said said.  “The Lord has used him so often in my life,” Patty said as she began to cry.

“Do you remember that this is the second anniversary of when my daughter died?” she asked me.  I did not remember.  “The Lord has sent Jack to me everytime I needed someone to encourage me since my husband died seven years ago.  I could not believe he was on the phone today.  I needed to be able to speak to him, today.”  Of course, by now, both of us were crying.

That night in my daily reading of Scriptures, I read Matthew 21.  The Lord quietly spoke to my heart, “I’ll always have the donkey at the right place when you need it and when I tell you to get it.”  Every ministry depends of logistical miracles.  Special needs ministry is even more important as we are dealing with parents and members who may be required to wrestle almost daily with crises. 

Remembering that the donkey will always be in the right place at the right time means that our task is simply listening and obeying.

