Last week, my husband and I started on a new avenue of our lives.  All this week, people have been in and out of the house, moving furniture and bringing in equipment.  My husband has felt an extreme loss of control.  He is an extrovert.  Therefore, he would normally enjoy people in and out.  But this has been different.  Others are now making decisions that would normally be his to make.

Almost forty years ago he built a bed that was especially made for our bedroom.  The final indignity came when two men came and turned his bed on its side and brought in a hospital bed.  He  protested loudly but to no avail.  He wanted his bed back. 

Tonight, Brad Shea from Able House called, “Is there anything that I can do to help Frank?”  Shea has remodeled out home so that it is completely wheelchair accessible.  However, even professionals are surprised at the subtle and beautiful ways that Shea has incorporated that accessibility into our home.

Knowing Brad, I felt that he meant it so I didn’t hesitate.  “They turned Frank’s bed aside and put a hospital bed in his room.  The movers couldn’t get the bed out of the bedroom so it’s sitting on its side leaning against a wall.  I think if he didn’t have to look at his bed all day he would feel better about things.  I know that he would forget about it much more quickly.”

“I’ll be there tonight,” Brad said.  After working all day, Shea knocked on our door at 8pm and worked another hour to help a confused and distressed friend. 

After he left, my husband called me into his room.  “That was really nice, wasn’t it?”  Within minutes, he was asleep.  

While Frank has had a disability his entire life, we have not lived with that disability.  The disability has lived with us…in the backyard.  Frank has pushed himself, made demands on his body and it has obediently obeyed.  However, the years has caught up and now we live with his disability.  I can only imagine the decades that most of our family have experienced wherein a disability–any disability–has forced its way at the head of the table and demanded to be fed first. 

As he slept, I worked another two hours to bring order back into the rest of the house.  I find that when life demands that I do a balancing and juggling act at the same time, it is vital for there to be as much order in my life as possible.  It’s also good to know that God is in control of our lives–not a sickness.  We rejoice that our wonderful Savior cares enough about us to have a friend call and make a sincere offer of kindness and love.

It also helps to vent.  Thanks.

