My father was an amazing person.  It was well-known that he could do anything.  When we were entering our teenage years, he designed and built a boat, then a set of water skis so that his three children could learn to ski.  He repaired TV’s and bicycles.  Working for months in the cellar (that he built himself), Daddy built, repainted and repaired toys, sports and other equipment for our Christmas gifts.   After he retired, he built a two-story house from the ground floor.  The finished inside work, he contracted out; but everything else was done by a crew of one, him. 

I always thought that my father did all those things because he wanted to do them.  Now, I realize that much of what he accomplished was out of necessity, not desire.  We weren’t poor but that was because my parents were frugal and inventive.  Plus, they were constantly being creative and expanding their skills and developing talents.

This week, I’ve written our 2010 Christmas play.  It is still in the polishing stages.  However, I put a deadline to complete the play this week–minus the finishing touches.  A parent, whose child is new to Special Gathering, said to me after I explained that I had completed the play, “You do everything.  I didn’t know you were so talented.”

After delivering their son back to his house, I got back into the van and thought, I can only do these things because I have to do them.  Anyone in disability ministries will understand this need for increased creative juices.  He will probably find himself pulled beyond his normal skill sets in order to be successful in ministry. 

David never thought he could lead a choir but he did it for almost five years.  Debb, who believed she had absolutely no musical skills,  successfully conducted a handbell choir for three years.  Richard writes Christmas plays.  Renetta and Laura became clowns.  Dan is a puppeteer.  Diane has learned the skills of table decorating for the seasonal parties in her program. 

The important thing is to understand that you can expand your talents and skills only by experimenting and trying to do more.  Don’t be afraid to fail.  There is so much that can go wrong that you can expect to really foul up more than occasionally.  However, becoming more than you can become is only accomplished by trying and trying again. 

Amos was a herdsman and a fig farmer but he dared to go to Israel to prophesy.  Isaiah was probably a government official.  Many Bible scholars believe he may have been a prince.  But when God called him, he said, “Here I am.  Send me.”  Was preaching his talent?  Probably not.  But we read and marvel at his prophetic utterance.  God expanded his abilities.

A  Jack-of-all-trades in ministries may be moving out of necessity.  She may be experiencing new talents as she inches through the will of God into obedience.

