Trusting in the Lord means Action

Proverbs 3:5

Central Theme:  Trusting in the Lord means we take action.

Introduction–Show a map.  When you are going on a trip, it is important to know where you are going.  In addition, wherever we are in life, all of us need to know where we are going.  However, much of the time, God tells us that we are to go and then He gives us no  idea where we are going.

       I.     Have a member Read Proverbs 3:5.

              A. Tell the story of Abram and how God sent him.

              B. Trusting God means actions–not knowledge.

              C. Abram obeyed God.

           II.     We must choose to obey God and we don‘t have to know everything.

              A. Years ago, I would wrap gifts with elaborate wrappings.  I’d make alligators and tin-soldiers and lots of other things out of my gifts.  When I would wrap gifts, I would being with a vague idea of what I wanted to do but I didn‘t know what I was doing but I did it anyway.  Usually, they would turn out great.

              1.  In the same way, God will give us a small word about what we are to do and we are to follow it.

              2.  A friend said that she could not attend church anymore because she had moved from the city where she had attended a Special Gathering program for years.  She decided that she wouldn’t go to the Special Gathering in her new town because she was sure that she would have a bad attitude if she had to go to somewhere else. 

                        a. We need to put the Lord first no matter what the circumstances

                       b.  We need to think about Jesus at the beginning of everything we do, not the end.

     III.     Abram did not know where he was going.

              A. He did know who was leading him.

              B. God will lead you into the right things.

Conclusion–Trusting God means being actively following Jesus.

