I could tell from the way my husband called me that something was wrong.  He had fallen from his shower seat during his shower because he had sneezed.  (He never learned to sneeze softly and he practically shakes the house when he sneezes.)  After about 20 minutes of his struggling to extract himself from the floor,  he finally succumbed to letting me call 911.

My husband is almost completely paralyzed from the waist down.  It has been a slow process and we have adjusted our lives and our home to accommodate his disability.  However, for years–with his help–I could lift him whenever he fell.  Now I cannot because he is mostly dead weight. 

No one likes to call 911, especially when you fall during a shower.  However, there are times that necessity and good sense usurp even the extreme modesty.  During your program, there will be times that 911 must be called.  When those occasions slam you against a wall, don’t hesitate to use this valuable tool.

Fortunately, my husband wasn’t hurt and in our sleepy, small beach community, the police love to make house calls.  However, even if your circumstances are different, we all need to understand that this is a necessary service that people with disabilities need to access on occasion.  Don’t hesitate to use it.

