Over the years, I learned many things from people who have worked with me and for me.  I’m always fascinated at how differently people approach and solve problems.  Whether it’s making a bed or solving an Algebra problem, I’ve learned that one size doesn’t ever fit all.

Years ago, my husband took it upon himself to occasionally get on my computer to reorganize and rearrange my desktop to “a better way.”  After a few times of trying to figure out the mess he had made, I exploded.  In my firmest and most impolite manner, I explained to him what would happen if he did not stay away from my computer.  Meekly, he said, “It was such a mess in there that I was only helping you to get organized.” 

On the other hand, I sometimes tried to use his computer.  I could never find the simplest programs because his desktop was so disjointed and disorganized.  It was at that point that it became firmly fixed in my gut that people don’t think alike and that is not a bad thing.  Sure, I had realized that fact before but this was different.  I was able to set aside my preconceived ideas of doing things “the proper way” which, of course ,was my way.

As I prepare for the upcoming board meeting for Special Gathering of Indian River, I’ve been struck with how differently I now prepare for this meeting than I did in the past.  At Special Gathering, we have certain things that are set in stone.  At our board meetings, we are expected to prepare a financial report, director’s report and an annual nominating committee report.  I find that my approach to these reports is vastly different from our other area directors.  Yet, the results are the same. 

Learning to accept your own unique skill set will help you accept the skills of others.  Within a ministry, each of us will use different techniques to achieve the same results.  The important thing is to be open to learn for others but to appreciate the results, rather than the process.

