Smugly, my friend, Pat, showed me her offering envelop.  She had written “Haiti” on the front.  “See.  I’m giving all my offering to Haiti now.  There is 50 cents in this offering.  In the past month, I’ve given almost $2.  How many people in Haiti will that feed for a year?”

I was taking Pat home from choir.  While I didn’t, I really wanted to laugh.  “Pat, I’m sorry but putting all your money together, it will probably feed only one or two people  for one day.”

Pat is a smoker.  So to help her gain some perspective, I asked her, “How much does a package of cigarettes cost?  You smoke one pack a day.  Your entire offering for a month wouldn’t support your smoking habit for one day.”

“Oh,” Pat said, disappointed.  “Well, I’m still going to give my offering to Haiti.  Is that all right?”

I reassured her that every penny will help and that she should continue to give.

While I know that Pat’s natural inclination is to exaggerate her own importance, I couldn’t help but compare her to Lori.  She doesn’t believe that anything she does is worth squat.  Lori constantly puts herself down, downgrading what she achieves.  To hear her tell it, she has never done anything of value.

Pat and Lori are both women who are mentally challenged.  And they aren’t very different from other adults their age.  Few of us have a good idea of our own worth.  We all seem to exaggerate either our own importance or lack of importance. 

Pat does have the ability to make friends and she is faithful regarding what she decides to do but she won’t ever feed millions.  Lori learns quickly because she works hard to achieve.  She is kind and gracious to everyone she meets.  She is a leader in our small mentally challenged community.  But she won’t ever feed millions.

But I won’t ever feed millions either.  The question for all of us is what Pat asked, “Should I still keep giving…trying…serving.”  Absolutely.  Changing the world for Jesus happens one soul at a time.  To win the mentally challenged community for Jesus, my goal is not every person in the world.  It is Paul, a sincere young man who has an amazing smile.  It is George, who looks shyly at me around the post at bowling.  It is Trina who gets into my face babbling some uninteresting nonsense whenever I see her at the workshop.  My goal is to reach the people who are in my orbit of influence.

What about you?  What is your goal?  Feeding millions?  Or reaching the people whom you encounter?

