Because I’m in the car a lot, I listen to the radio more than most people.  One newscaster reported that people are constantly getting stung by what they post on social networking sites.  A friend who has a wonderful sense of humor Tweetered that he was “so over the grace thing.”  I can see his friends laughing out loud because we all know that HE needs more grace than most of us.  We also know how much he leans on God’s grace each day.   However, the comment was somehow picked up by another Christian group who labeled him as a heretic. 

Another pastor of a local church in another state commented to me, “I can’t imagine blogging each day.  I have plenty to say but it’s all about my parishioners and most of it isn’t pretty.”

We must all realize that Internet communication is tricky at best and can easily become dangerous.  What should be written?  First, positive material.  Of course, everything you say can’t be syrupy sweet.  It would not minister to people lives.  Yes, you must share your struggles and concerns but try to keep others out of it.  Second, if there needs to be a villain, you should be the villain–not the hero.  When you paint yourself in the most positive light, it is distasteful to your audience.

I was studying a sermon that I had written about a month ago and will deliver this week.  There was one statement in the sermon that I had written that made me look extremely positive.  I was the author and it was about me.  Yet, looking back over the comment after letting it rest for a month, I found it distasteful.  What would others think had they read it? 

You know the phrase TMI.  Most of us are guilty of giving “too much information” at times.  However, TMI can really bite you back when it is encapsulated on the Internet.  It is a tricky business to be personal but vague.  Nevertheless, that is vital in sharing over the net.

I’ve uncovered things that I wrote years ago and I find that I was extremely preachy.  Again, I cringe when I read them.  Jesus told story that pin pointed heavenly principles.  That is a great pattern for each of us to follow, especially if you are interested in reaching a wide audience.  Therefore, the third advice I would give is don’t be preachy.

Please understand that these are not MY principles but things that I’ve learned from authors who were and are a lot smarter than I am.  Over the years, I realized–the hard way–that they work.  That is especially true when communicating over the Internet.

