God wants you to have the courage to stand up for Him

II Thessalonians 2:15

Central Theme:  God wants you to stand up for what you believe about Him.

Introduction–I believe that chocolate is good and I will tell anyone who will listen.  I talk about it all the time.  But chocolate won’t change anyone’s life.  I want to have the courage to stand up for the thing that will radically change the life of others. Have a member read II Thessalonians 2:15. 

I.     Tell the story of Gideon.

A. The Midianites were ruling over his county.

B. God told him to become a mighty warrior and fight them.

C. Gideon was able to fight against an entire army with only 300 men because he was willing to stand up for God.

1.  He did not have to fight but to stand with a trumpet and a candle.

II.     God does not always want us to fight with others about our faith.

A. Sometimes he just wants to firm in what we believe about Him.

B. Times during work, we should be Christ-like but maybe not talk about Jesus.

C. Standing firm is not a cop out.  It may be what we need to do at certain times.

1.  Tell about when the neighbors were getting together and their language was bad.  I complained and said that I was going to tell them that I didn’t like it.  My good friend said, “Don’t correct them.  Just don’t use bad language yourself.  They will know that you don’t like it.”

III.     How do you stand firm.

1.  Don‘t join in when others are sinning.

A. Don’t talk when other are gossiping–change the subject.

B. I was convicted of gossiping because a good friend would not join in.

2.  Smile and be polite but don‘t change how you feel.

IV.     Standing firm is not as hard as talking about Jesus.

1.  Sometimes it is what God wants us to do.

Conclusions:  Chocolate is good and so is standing up for what I believe.

